Alliance reveals candidates for General Election

Alliance has revealed its full list of candidates for the forthcoming General Election.

The party will run in every constituency, with some new faces joining established representatives from the Assembly and local Councils.

Party Leader Naomi Long, who handed her nomination papers in at the Electoral Office in Belfast alongside South Belfast candidate Paula Bradshaw, West Belfast candidate Sorcha Eastwood and North Down candidate Andrew Muir, said the election was a chance for people to change the direction of politics, both at Stormont and at Westminster.

“This election comes at a time when things look particularly bleak – the UK is being taken towards a hard Brexit by the Tories, while the Government is seemingly ignoring the unique circumstances of Northern Ireland, in league with some local MPs. Those actions threaten the way we live, learn, work and trade.

“At Stormont the institutions are in danger and that is impacting directly upon public services, like health and education.

“This election is an opportunity to change the direction of our society, to make your voice heard and say enough is enough. For people to set a new course and turn away from the politics of division and towards a progressive, positive and pro-European politics, the type these Alliance candidates stand for.

“If people vote for Alliance candidates, they will not only get MPs who are rooted in their constituencies and have the skills, vision and desire to represent them at Westminster, but will send the clearest possible message that devolution must be restored urgently.”


East Antrim – Stewart Dickson

East Belfast – Naomi Long

East Londonderry – Chris McCaw

Fermanagh and South Tyrone – Noreen Campbell

Foyle – John Doherty

Lagan Valley – Aaron McIntyre

Mid Ulster – Fay Watson

Newry and Armagh – Jackie Coade

North Antrim – Patricia O’Lynn

North Belfast – Sam Nelson

North Down – Andrew Muir

South Antrim – Neil Kelly

South Belfast – Paula Bradshaw

South Down – Andrew McMurray

Strangford – Kellie Armstrong

Upper Bann – Tara Doyle

West Belfast – Sorcha Eastwood

West Tyrone – Stephen Donnelly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *